Introduction Iboat

Introduce yourself here
Iboat

Introduction Iboat

Post by Iboat »

Hi there,

My name is Iboat ;) I am a graphic designer living on a small island off the coast of Venezuela. I dream of one day owning a (fishing) boat able to hop between islands in the region. I have my goal set on first designing a boat in 3D then CNC cutting it and welding it together. I joined this forum looking for resources on boat building and for a community to share my journey with.
kmorin
Donator 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24

Re: Introduction Iboat

Post by kmorin »

IBoat, welcome to the AAB.com Forum for welded plate alloy boat enthusiasts.

Good plan, any plan that includes designing and building your own welded aluminum boat is worthwhile IMVU-bO; (in my very unbiased opinion)!

Being a graphic designer will probably help you learn to draw the boat in one of the marine software packages availalbe? Defltship Pro is good software suite with goof features. I've used this package for many years but there are quite a few other applications available. Almost assuredly you'll want software that will provide developed surfaces if you're going to have NC cut panels and parts. Rino has a marine design embedded application in that software and there a few that use AutoCAD as the graphics 'engine' and have tools designed for marine design. Evaluating marine design software is a challenge as there are several different interfaces to the modeling environment that require leaning before you'd be able to accept or refuse that method of work.