"27 Lifeboat from Denmark

Introduce yourself here
mads

"27 Lifeboat from Denmark

Post by mads »

Hello everybody.
When I graduated as an architect 25 years ago, my dad gave me a lifeboat. He being an old sailor, thought it to be the perfect gift! It had spent its life in the extreme North Atlantic, sitting on a Russian fish freezer vessel. Originally built in Denmark, it apparently wanted to come home and en route to the scrappers in Bilbao Spain, the ship tore loose from the tug in a storm. The whole menage drifted unto our local shore and my dad salvaged one of the lifeboats.
Fast forward, after actually moving it with me for 25 years to all kinds of locations and career and kids sorted, I finally have the time and some savings to get it done. I want to keep most of the big open cockpit, make a tarp-tent construktion for overnight stays, a kitchen stove box and fit an inboard diesel. This is the perfect gunk hole explorer and the massive Swedish archipelago is not so far from here.
I´ll have to weld up a few cracks and straighten out a couple of dings but there´s no real corrosion to speak of, so hopefully hull integrity is good.It does have some airtanks that might be problematic. Just to make sure, I have made an appointment with a shipyard, thats been building alu boats since the 90íes, mostly military and rescue vessels. They´ll survey it and if they say GO, I´ll probably use their bottom paint program and leave the rest unpainted. Biggest headaches are the fitting of the engine, welding in the stern tube and making a new rudder. But let´s see..
Thank´s for having me, I´ll get around to the stupid questions later.
Best regards
Mads
Attachments
2.jpg
2.jpg (97.83 KiB) Viewed 11059 times
3.JPG
3.JPG (154.42 KiB) Viewed 11059 times
8.JPG
8.JPG (124.67 KiB) Viewed 11059 times
7.JPG
7.JPG (161.97 KiB) Viewed 11059 times
gandrfab

Re: "27 Lifeboat from Denmark

Post by gandrfab »