Found this little boat

Post your Alloy pictures here
OceanTrvlr
Donator 23

Found this little boat

Post by OceanTrvlr »

I'm still new to alloy boats but trying to learn as much as I can. I've been hoping to could find something small to start with, and stumbled across this little boat near me here in Massachusetts.

Stopped and talked to the owner today and he is not interested in selling. But, he said the boat was built by a "Big Dig welder" who made six identical boats. He doesn't know the disposition of the other five.

Anyone ever seen something like this?

Ethan

Photo Apr 21, 11 57 24 AM.jpg
Photo Apr 21, 11 57 31 AM.jpg
Photo Apr 21, 11 57 41 AM.jpg
Chaps
Donator '09

Re: Found this little boat

Post by Chaps »

That is nice. As you might expect fully welded skiffs can be had from various builders out here in the PacNW
1987 24' LaConner pilothouse workboat, 225 Suzuki
please view and like: https://www.facebook.com/bottompainting/
kmorin
Donator 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24

Re: Found this little boat

Post by kmorin »

OceanTrvlr, the skiff was built by someone who's not really familiar with welded skiff design- the reason is; this is a copy of a wood boat done in metal. 2nd, there appear to be "chine bars" and maybe a "keel bar" as well? Last the idea of the design's shape is sound - its just the wood boat structure that shows the lack of design experience in metal.