Land loving NOOB looking for Boat advice....

General boating discussion
bondoz
Your location: SFBay Ca

Land loving NOOB looking for Boat advice....

Post by bondoz »

I'm a first time boater and haven't a clue on what i'm doing so i'm hoping some of y'all could lend me some advice.
I'm in the Sf bay area and am looking for suggestion for a boat & motor to use in the local lakes, the upper delta areas and an occasional trip to the bay (if possible). It would mostly be just me and my son (8) so it doesn't need to be very big, just safe. I'm currently looking at the 1625 Jetcraft, Tracker V-16 WT and Klamath 16exw but i'm not really sure if they're the best choices, if y'all had any feedback good or bad it would be appreciated.

TIA, Kevin
JETTYWOLF
Contributor/donator/Location Nazi
Your location: JACKSONVILLE FL USA

Re: Land loving NOOB looking for Boat advice....

Post by JETTYWOLF »

Have no idea what a jetcraft is, but seen a klamath and a Tracker's. I'm not a Bass Pro Shops brand boat fan, and that means Trackers. Certainly not close to any saltwater ready boat by any stretch. Plus the build on them isn't too swift. I have a thing about "rivets' holding parts and pieces togther. From last look.

You're on the right track though as far as aluminum goes. Make sure it's "welded aluminum", and can be used it saltwater.
IE: sacrificial anodes, or at least places to put them. Just like a aluminum outboard motor, even in fresh water you need them. So many small aluminum boats have none.

IF. and it's a big "if". You plan on being a boater for awhile. Just remember small is okay for now, but what about 5 years from now. When working the boat shows I used to tell people with growing families and kids who could turn into fishing nuts, "hopefully". It keeps their minds busy with momma nature and off the streets. Go happy "medium". Just incase...Just like a vehicle for growing families.