Its all new to me grounding vrs. Bonding???

General boating discussion
Tookalook

Its all new to me grounding vrs. Bonding???

Post by Tookalook »

I am a kinda newbie. I now have a aluminum 27 ft Kingston SeaPro 7000. So I am just doing some research on aluminum crafts. Corrosion #1 I just can't find my negative bonding point nor an Anode attached to the hull. am I to understand The hull should have a cable larger than the neg ENG. cable mechanically ( Aluminum) adhered to the hull. Drill a hole threw the hull and bolt it with an aluminum bolt??? Aroids well that is a subject in itself, What kind? I don't see any Anode attached to the hull just the ones on the outdrive. Can someone help to shed a little light on the matter please. I would love to understand the theory on multimeter testing but the wires are 12 inches long not 5 ft. I want to be able to leave the boat plugged in to shore power to keep the batteries charged. but is this going to cause corrosion? Im not a builder just an owner.
26 ft. Kingston Sea Sport
18 Custom Skiff
Chaps
Donator '09

Re: Its all new to me grounding vrs. Bonding???

Post by Chaps »